Sport News

Sri Lanka T20I squad for India : Mathews recalled

The Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming tour of India which will commence on 5th January has been released featuring the former skipper Angelo Mathews in the T20I squad after 18 months.

Only two changes have been made to the squad which was thrashed by Aaron Finch’s men in Australia for Sri Lanka’s first T20I series defeat down under. After battling with many injuries on his hamstring, Angelo Mathews is finally expected to bowl in the series, adding the much-needed impetus to Sri Lanka’s bowling unit which only managed to dismiss 6 Aussie scalps during the 3 T20Is.

Unfortunately, Sri Lanka’s first choice seam option; Nuwan Pradeep has twisted his ankle at practice last week as Kasun Rajitha who wasn’t originally included in the squad draft, will fill his void. Shehan Jayasuriya who has performed reasonably well in the T20I series in Pakistan, has faced the axe from the selection committee making the way for another all-rounder; Dhananjaya de Silva who pipped Jayasuriya for his all-round abilities.

Lasith Malinga will lead the 16-member squad which will definitely face a tough challenge to open the account in 2020 from Virat Kohli-led India. It will be interesting to see how skipper Malinga will improve his captaincy record which has faced a drought of wins in 2019. (1-won | 9-Lost)

Sri Lanka squad

Lasith Malinga (C), Kusal Perera, Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Bhanuka Rajapaksha, Oshada Fernando, Dasun Shanaka, Angelo Mathews, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Dhananjaya de Silva, Lahiru Kumara, Isuru Udana, Kasun Rajitha

T20I series – Schedule

5th Jan – 1st T20I – Guwahati

7th Jan – 2nd T20I – Indoor

10th Jan – 3rd T20I – Pune